VAT charging on revenue splits

Forum Categories GENERAL VAT DISCUSSIONS VAT charging on revenue splits

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

I work in the events industry and most of our deals are a percentage split of revenue earned. For example, 80/20, 90/10, 75/25 etc.

So the production company bringing in the show to a venue earns the greater share of the revenue, the venue earns the smaller share. These percentage splits are agreed in advance. Both parties are usually VAT registered.

Normally, we calculate the split by netting the gross revenue first, apply the split, then add VAT to each side. But I’m in dispute with a venue who are VAT registered but who won’t net the gross revenue. They are applying their split to the gross revenue and adding VAT on top. Almost like a rental charge.

For example, if their share is 20% of the gross revenue they are charging me 20% of the gross revenue plus VAT, rather than 20% of net revenue plus VAT. Or, to put this another way, 24% of net revenue. They’ve increased their share by another 4% by calculating the VAT differently.

How do I get around this particular conundrum? I can’t even walk away because they are holding the revenue for over 20 shows I have already produced.

Trevor S
    Participant

First question in VAT is always “who is supplying what to who”. The two types of arrangement that I’ve encountered previously are:

1. Venue is the principal in the sale of tickets to the public – they collect the ticket income and pay VAT on the full sales over to HMRC. Venue then pays the production company for the show. If the production company is VAT registered, they pay the VAT on their share over to HMRC. Either they give a VAT invoice to the venue or the venue produces a self billing invoice – this allows the venue to recover from HMRC the VAT on the production company’s share.