using inc VAT or ex VAT when working out project budget?

Forum Categories GENERAL VAT DISCUSSIONS using inc VAT or ex VAT when working out project budget?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Hi all, really need some help resolving an issue I just can’t get my head around.

I have done some work for a friend, who has a ltd company which has recently become VAT registered.
    I am a freelancer/sole trader, and am not VAT registered.

He asked me to give him a price to build something his customer needed as part of a larger project he was hired for, but was outside his skillset.
    We agreed the work would cost about £1000. I expected to spend roughly £100 on materials, whatever was left over would cover my time.
    He of course has charged customer £1200 for this element of work, which is the project budget plus VAT, which is fine.

So, I have a £1000 budget to complete my element of the project, for time and materials.
    The plan was he would buy the materials using the company account and whatever was left over, was my fee for my time. I would simply invoice him for the difference.

The problem we are having, is out of the £1000 project budget, his company paid £120 for materials, all materials included VAT at 20% – so £20 of that is VAT he has paid out.

I believe that because he can claim the VAT back, only £100 has actually been spent from the £1000 project budget, leaving £900 available for my time.
    He believes that as £120 has been spent, only £880 is available for my time.

Who is right?

My issue with his way of seeing it, is that after I have my £880 and he accounts for materials at £120, it does indeed add up to £1000. fine.
    But later on, he will reclaim the £20 he spent on materials.

So the way I see it, the customer made £1000 available for a job, £880 was spent on labour, £100 was spent on materials, and £20 is just left over in his bank account.